Does Missouri still require vehicle inspection?

Does Missouri still require vehicle inspection?

Missouri law requires all motor vehicles to pass a vehicle safety inspection performed by an authorized Missouri inspection station, unless exempt as detailed below. The renewal notice you receive from the Department of Revenue will assist you in determining if your vehicle needs to have a safety inspection.

What year car needs inspection in Missouri?

Your vehicle will need to be inspected once every two years by an authorized service provider. If your car or truck has a model year that is even, it will need to be inspected during even years. In turn, if your vehicle model is odd, you have to get your vehicle inspected during odd years.

What are the inspection requirements in Missouri?

Vehicle maintenance workers are to check a vehicle’s braking, steering and exhaust systems.Lights, turn signals, wipers, seat belts, tires and the horn are also checked. A nonpartisan fiscal analysis shows fewer inspections will result in up to $500,000 drop in money being deposited into the state’s highway fund.

How much does a car inspection cost Missouri?

$12.00

Is Missouri doing away with vehicle inspections?

A new law taking effect on August 28 will change the state’s vehicle inspection rules. On Wednesday, Gov. Mike Parson signed Senate Bill 89 into law, a wide-ranging bill including a provision that will require inspections for vehicles more than 10 years old or with more than 150,000 miles.

How old does a car have to be to not need inspection in Mo?

If a vehicle is less than 10 years old, a Missouri safety inspection is generally not required for a license renewal. (For example, a 2010 model year vehicle will not require a safety inspection until 2022.)

Do I have to get my car inspected every year in Missouri?

Currently, motor vehicles with more than 150,000 miles and 10 years from their manufacturing model year must pass a biennial safety inspection. House Bill 2499, sponsored by Rep. J. Eggleston, R-Maysville, changes the law to exempt motor vehicles with less than 150,000 miles and manufactured after Jan.

Does Missouri require inspection stickers?

Do I need a new inspection sticker for the windshield? A: When a windshield is replaced, no new safety inspection sticker is required. Retain the white approval certificate issued to you at the time of inspection, as it serves as proof your vehicle passed inspection.

What year vehicle is exempt from inspection in Mo?

EXEMPTIONS: Effective August 28, 2019, motor vehicles for the first ten years following the model year of manufacture and having less than 150,000 miles on the odometer are exempt from the safety inspection requirement.

Does my car need inspection in Missouri?

Inspections are required on used cars in Missouri with more than 150,000 miles or that are more than 10 years old. If you need to get the vehicle to pass a safety inspection, you should make sure these things are in working order: All turn signals and lights. Bumper height.

Does 2015 car need safety inspection in Missouri?

Even year vehicles were inspected in even years, and odd year vehicles were inspected in odd years This has changed. Now, with a few exceptions, Missouri safety inspections are not required until a vehicle is more than 10 years old, or the vehicle’s odometer has exceeded 150,000 miles

Is Missouri getting rid of vehicle inspections?

Missouri’s auto inspections phased out in proposed bill | Missouri | thecentersquare.com.

What is checked in Missouri inspection?

MO State Inspection Overview The Safety Inspection includes checking your: headlights, turn signals, horn, brake system, steering mechanism, all window glass, windshield wipers, and more. During the Emissions Inspection, special equipment is used to read your On-Board Diagnostic System (OBD).

What year cars need inspection in Missouri?

Your vehicle will need to be inspected once every two years by an authorized service provider. If your car or truck has a model year that is even, it will need to be inspected during even years. In turn, if your vehicle model is odd, you have to get your vehicle inspected during odd years.

What will fail a car inspection?

ten years

What is included in a Missouri car inspection?

MO State Inspection Overview The Safety Inspection includes checking your: headlights, turn signals, horn, brake system, steering mechanism, all window glass, windshield wipers, and more. During the Emissions Inspection, special equipment is used to read your On-Board Diagnostic System (OBD).

How much is Missouri inspection and emissions?

The emissions test is $24 and the safety inspection is $12. Send an email to report a station that charged more than this.

How long does an inspection last in Missouri?

60 days

Are safety inspections still required in Missouri?

Missouri’s auto inspections phased out in proposed bill | Missouri | thecentersquare.com.

What vehicles are exempt from inspection in Missouri?

Missouri law requires all motor vehicles to pass a vehicle safety inspection performed by an authorized Missouri inspection station, unless exempt as detailed below. The renewal notice you receive from the Department of Revenue will assist you in determining if your vehicle needs to have a safety inspection.

Does a 2016 vehicle need an inspection in Missouri?

Your vehicle will need to be inspected once every two years by an authorized service provider. If your car or truck has a model year that is even, it will need to be inspected during even years. In turn, if your vehicle model is odd, you have to get your vehicle inspected during odd years.

Does a 1996 car need emissions in Missouri?

Missouri’s auto inspections phased out in proposed bill | Missouri | thecentersquare.com.

How much is a car inspection in Missouri?

Missouri’s auto inspections phased out in proposed bill | Missouri | thecentersquare.com.

How often do I need safety and emissions in Missouri?

Do I need a new inspection sticker for the windshield? A: When a windshield is replaced, no new safety inspection sticker is required. Retain the white approval certificate issued to you at the time of inspection, as it serves as proof your vehicle passed inspection.

What year vehicles need inspections in Missouri?

A new law taking effect on August 28 will change the state’s vehicle inspection rules. On Wednesday, Gov. Mike Parson signed Senate Bill 89 into law, a wide-ranging bill including a provision that will require inspections for vehicles more than 10 years old or with more than 150,000 miles.

Leave a Comment